SEEKER Blog Tour {Guest Post + Giveaway}

SEEKER Blog Tour {Guest Post + Giveaway}

SEEKER Blog Tour {Guest Post + Giveaway}
SEEKER
by Arwen Elys Dayton
Series: Seeker #1
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on February 10, 2015
Genres: Epic Fantasy
Provided by: NetGalley
AmazonB&NGoodreads

DESCRIPTION

Their Legacy is… A calling. An Honor. A lie.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.

As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.

And she’ll be with the boy she loves—who is also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.

Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it’s too late to walk away.


PRAISE

“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —School Library Journal
“[A] powerful beginning to a complex family saga . . . Dayton excels at creating memorable characters.” —Publishers Weekly

“A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series

“Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable


Introduction


I am absolutely thrilled to be hosting a stop on the SEEKER Blog Tour on its release day. I have an amazing post by the author in which she shares five of her favorite passages from the book. Each passages reveals a little bit about the characters and the world. If you haven’t yet read SEEKER you’ll definitely want to check them out. And if you have, you can see whether your favorites match up with the author’s choices.

In addition to the post there is an amazing tour-wide giveaway for five copies of the book. Scroll down to the Rafflecopter to enter for a chance to win.

Each day of the tour reveals a different graphic. And today’s graphic asks bloggers what truth they seek. And…

Seek Truth Banner

#SeekerSeries

…of course it’s toughest one. I often find that when you go looking for the truth, what you discover isn’t always what you expect. So I think I’m going to save my truth-seeking for another day and instead borrow yesterday’s prompt and seek out adventure. Because I am always up for having a new adventure. How about you?


Guest Post


5 Favorite Passages from SEEKER

by Arwen Elys Dayton

Here are five of my favorite passages from Seeker. I selected them with a focus on the many different locations in the book.

1. The first passage is from the opening chapter of Seeker, and takes place in the training barn on the Scottish estate, where much of the first part of the story is set. The estate has not changed much in decades (or maybe centuries), and it’s the first glimpse at the strange mix of old and new that makes up the Seekers’ lives.

It would be nice to make it through alive, Quin thought. She ducked to the right as her opponent’s sword came whistling past the left side of her body, nearly slicing off her arm. Quin’s own whipsword was in her hand, coiled up like a whip. With a crack, she flicked it out, and it solidified into a long, flexible sword. It’d be a shame if he split my head open now. I’m so close to success. The enormous man she was fighting looked delighted at the thought of killing her.

The sunlight was in her eyes, but on reflex she raised her weapon over her head and stopped her opponent’s next blow before it cut her skull in two. The force of it was like a tree trunk falling onto her and her legs buckled.

“Got you, haven’t I?” the man roared. Alistair MacBain was the biggest man she knew. He stood over her, his red hair glowing like an evil Scottish halo in the dusty sunbeams coming through the skylight. He was also her uncle, but that didn’t mean anything at the moment.

Quin scuttled backward. Alistair’s huge arms swung his oversized weapon like it was no more than a conductor’s baton. He really intends to kill me, she realized.

2. This passage is from a fairly early chapter in the book. It takes place in the woods of the Scottish estate, late at night, and is the first introduction into the mind of one of my favorite characters in the book.

Around midnight, the moon had still not risen, and she was alone in the near blackness of the forest. She moved with the silent tread she had learned as a little girl. It was the only way she knew to walk anymore. Since she had been stretched out so many times, her body would only carry her along as it perceived time should flow: smoothly, steadily, rhythmically.

The children on the estate called her the Young Dread. It was not her name, of course. She did have a name, though no one used it anymore. She could remember it if she wanted to.

She thought of the three apprentices — two were sworn Seekers now — as children, though by some accountings they were older than she. That was a riddle with no clear answer.

Maud. It came to her, floating up into consciousness like a piece of treasure rising from the floor of the ocean. My name is Maud.

3. This passage is about a third of the way through the book and takes place during a flashback to John Hart as a child.

“You want me to go in here?” John asked.

“Not there… underneath. Another door. You can feel… a tiny lever. It slides if you push it.”

John felt around the bottom of the space. His small fingers located the hidden lever. He pushed it and the bottom of the coffin slid back several inches into the wall.

He climbed into the seat, then squeezed his way through the bottom door. There was another space beneath, big enough to hold an adult.

“Slide it shut now,” Catherine said.

John ducked down and pulled the panel shut above him. He’d been worried it would leave him in darkness, but he found he could still see. There were small slots cut in the base of the bench, and through these he was able to look out into the living room.

His mother was lying on the floor several feet away. Her eyes were open but looked blank. Her chest heaved up and down and after a few moments she closed her eyes, gathering her strength, and scooted herself a little closer to him.

4. This passage is from one of the first chapters in Hong Kong. We get a look at how Shinobu’s life has evolved since the Scottish chapters.

Shinobu was sweating. He could feel wetness trickle down his forehead inside his face mask, despite how cold the water was. He blinked the sweat out of his eyes and adjusted his head lamp as he swam deeper. His friend Brian was diving next to him, both of them wearing heavy reclamation tools around the belts of their dive suits. Brian’s big gut made him look like a giant sea bass as he swam down into the darker water. And I am a barracuda, Shinobu thought. He had gotten so skinny in the past year that his ribs were visible even through his thick wetsuit.

They had just entered the Trench, a deep cut in the bottom of Victoria Harbor where the ocean currents swept and buried all kinds of debris from the harbor floor. As they passed between the Trench’s high walls, the water became much darker and much colder. In the light of their headlamps, the shadows were moving wildly and Shinobu had to blink his eyes every few seconds to clear the perspiration.

5. In this final passage, we get to follow along as Quin finds herself in immediate danger in Hong Kong.

The next few minutes were a blur. A herd of Western tourists was choking traffic on the thoroughfare. Quin pushed her way through them, sensing every moment that the men were getting closer. Then she was falling down an air lift, moving out onto a lower level, where there was loud music and denser crowds. She caught glimpses of her pursuers, farther behind her now.

Another air lift down, then out into more frightening swarms of visitors outside the cheap drug bars. She kept turning to the right, realizing too late that her pursuers were herding her in that direction.

She moved frantically down another air lift, this one smaller and open only to Bridge residents. When she stepped off this time, she was in an empty passage and a man was running toward her from a stairway. She turned left — the only direction available to her — and found herself moving down a wide, dark corridor.

This was a part of the Bridge she had never seen before. It was empty of humans, inhabited only by huge pieces of mechanical equipment which filled the space with a rhythmic vibration and the hiss of steam. The man’s footsteps were behind her, getting closer, the sound of his shoes combining with the pulse of the machinery. He would catch her, the past would catch her, and it was happening so easily.


About Arwen Elys Dayton


Arwen

Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid (which she explored by a single fading flashlight when researching Resurrection), Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. She enjoys creating complete worlds inhabited by characters who charm, frustrate or inspire.

Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can follow her @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram.

Find her: WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM


Giveaway


There is a tour-wide giveaway for…

A finished copy of SEEKER to 5 winners – US ONLY

Enter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule


February 9th

February 10th

February 11th

February 12th

February 13th

RockStar

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader