TRANSCENDENT Blog Tour {Interview + Giveaway}

TRANSCENDENT Blog Tour {Interview + Giveaway}

TRANSCENDENT Blog Tour {Interview + Giveaway}
TRANSCENDENT
by Lesley Livingston
Series: Starling #3
Published by HarperTeen on December 23, 2014
Genres: Romance, Urban Fantasy
AmazonB&NGoodreads

DESCRIPTION

LOVE CONQUERS

On a storm-swept terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling holds the fate of the world in her hands as her beloved Fennrys lies bleeding at her feet, his life hanging in the balance. The ancient Norse prophecy of Ragnarok stands poised on the knife edge of fulfillment. Mason’s transformation into a Valkyrie—a chooser of the slain and the one who will ultimately bring about the end of the world—is complete. Still, she remains determined to thwart her father’s apocalyptic desires. Whatever is to come, it won’t happen because of what the prophecy foretold, or what Gunnar Starling has planned, or what the fates have already decided. What happens next will be up to Mason and the Fennrys Wolf. The world had better hope they haven’t reached the limits of what their souls and swords can survive.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and set in the same universe as Lesley Livingston’s much-loved WONDROUS STRANGE trilogy, with roots in Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and Celtic myths and legends, this thrilling conclusion to the acclaimed Starling trilogy is filled to the hilt with sweeping adventure and soaring romance.


Introduction


I am a huge fan of the Fennrys Wolf… I mean Lesley Livingston. So I am super stoked to be a part of the TRANSCENDENT Blog Tour and to have an AWESOME interview with this amazing series’ author to share for my stop today.

If you haven’t yet been introduced to Mason Starling, Fenn, or any of the others in the Starling series, you will definitely want to meet them all once you’ve checked out the interview. Well, except maybe Rory. Unless you want to meet him to kick his ykw.

Lesley Livingston totally rocks and makes me wish I hadn’t yet met Fenn so I could meet him for the first time all over again. She makes me want to go back and read this series from the beginning and revisit her Wondrous Strange series, too. Her stories and characters always make me smile and swoon. And yes, they sometimes make me tear up.

And who doesn’t love an author who is completely at the mercy of their characters?


Interview


Q. What can readers expect from this third book in the Starling series?

Um… let’s see…

Monsters. Magick. Mayhem.

Passions, romantic and otherwise. Heartbreak. Betrayal. Friendship. Redemption (maybe – and I’m not saying for who!). New York under supernatural seige. A ever-more-looming Norse apocalypse. An eight-legged horse. The battleground at the end of the world. Funky weaponry. Stylin’ chainmail. Gods. Goddesses. Ravens. Wolves. Witty repartee!

Line

Q. If Fenn could describe the predicament he finds himself in at the start of TRANSCENDENT in 25 words or less, what would they be?

I suspect that it might really be mostly a series of tortured, rasping, groans rather than actual words, per se. And that the very few intelligible words Fenn might manage to use would actually be unprintable…

Line

Q. In 25 words or less, what does Mason Starling have to say about prophecies, the fates and Gunnar’s plans?

“To Hel with all of them.”

Line

Q. What was it like to write a character like the Fennrys Wolf into two series? Had you always planned to include him in Starling? And in what ways has he changed from when readers first met him in the Wondrous Strange series?

Well, for those readers who’ve already read the Wondrous Strange series, it will come as no surprise that – in fact – no, I was pretty much done with our pal Fennrys at the end of that series. Emphatically. What I didn’t suspect was that he wasn’t done with me. Dude just wouldn’t shut up. Had more story to tell, apparently. After some convincing, I agreed and that was what allowed me to tell Mason’s story. So, thanks for that, Fenn!

It was actually very satisfying for me to revisit the Fennrys Wolf. He is a markedly different character than he was in the first series – because of the events of that story. He’s carrying a lot of baggage (even if he’s not aware of it at first) because of his previous actions and the way he’s lived his life and he’s pretty determined not to repeat those past mistakes. Whether he’s ultimately successful, well… that would be telling!

Line

Q. If you could pick one line (or quote) from TRANSCENDENT that was your favorite to write, what would that be? And why?

Oh, glarg. That’s like picking a favorite cat!

I like many different lines for many different reasons. At the moment, I’m gonna go with: “Rory can go suck a magick acorn, Dad.” Because pretty much everyone whose ever read this story thinks that!

Line

Q. Who was your favorite character to write about in the Starling series? Who was your most challenging character to write?

Well, of course, Mason and Fenn are my leads and it’s their story that was so compelling to me in the first place. But I did have a soft spot for certain other characters as I wrote them. Like… Toby Fortier, Mason’s fencing coach – a guy with a lot of life experience. Or Rafe, who’s also Anubis – a guy with a lot of death experience. I also admit to cackling with wicked glee while writing some of Rory Starling’s particularly vicious bits. And you know you really enjoy writing a character when every sentence that comes out of his or her mouth winds up virtually unchanged at the end of the editorial process. That was Heather.

As for challenging? Well… Mason’s eldest brother Rothgar – or, rather, Roth’s story arc – was probably the most challenging to write. I mean, the poor guy really is caught between a Ragnarok and a hard place. Heh.

Line

Q. What do you think it is about Fenn that makes him such a swoon-worthy character?

Probably a toss-up between his awkward/beautiful/infrequent smiles and his ability to kick major storm zombie arse, pantsless. That, and the fact that he’s more than willing to die – repeatedly – if there’s a chance that doing so will keep the ones he loves safe from harm. The fact that it doesn’t – repeatedly – isn’t his fault.

Line

Q. What has been your favorite part of writing the Starling series – the action, the mythology, the romance, the characters?

Yes.


About Lesley Livingston


LesleyLesley Livingston is a writer and actor living in Toronto. Captivated at a young age by stories of mythology and folklore, past civilizations and legendary heroes, Lesley went on to earn a master’s degree in English, specializing in Shakespeare and Arthurian literature from the University of Toronto. She frequently performs with the Tempest Theatre Group, of which she is a co-founder.

She is the author of the award-winning Wondrous Strange and its sequels Darklight and Tempestuous, as well as Once Every NeverEvery Never After, and Now and for Never.

You can visit Lesley online at www.lesleylivingston.com.

Find her: WEBSITE | BLOG | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | PINTEREST | GOODREADS


Other Books in the Series


STARLING (Starling #1) – AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

DESCENDENT (Starling #2) – AMAZON | B&N | GOODREADS

STARLING is now available for just $1.99 in eBook format! – AMAZON | B&N | HARPERCOLLINS | iTUNES


Giveaway


There is a tour-wide giveaway for…

  • (4) Finished copies of TRANSCENDENT – US/Canada ONLY

Enter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule


Week One

Dec. 15th – Wholly Books – Review

Dec. 16th – Reading YA Rocks – Interview

Dec. 17th – Reading Lark – Review

Dec. 18th – Two Chicks on Books – Guest Post

Dec. 19th – Please Feed the Bookworm – Review

Week Two

Dec. 22nd – Parajunkee – Interview

Dec. 23rd – Wishful Endings – Review

Dec. 24th – Mom With A Kindle – Interview

Dec. 25th – Crossroad Reviews – Review

Dec. 26th – Bewitched Bookworms – Guest Post

RockStar

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader