My Reading Pile {11}

Haul_11 MRP_Descrip_2

It was a quiet week at the mailboxes this week. I received just one printed ARC and one eARC, but both are books I was super excited to get. I managed to refrain from grabbing any new eGalleys this week, so this week’s haul is pretty light.

I haven’t quite caught up on all my missed reads and reviews, but I was able to make a small dent as well as tackle both books from last week’s pile. My wishful thinking read is a book I very much want to read right now. But if that doesn’t happen it will be first up on next week’s pile.


WHAT I RECEIVED THIS WEEK


RYAR_HAUL

Print

eBook

  • THE REMEDY by Suzanne Young – via Edelweiss courtesy of Simon Pulse

WHAT I’M READING THIS WEEK: December 14th – December 20th, 2014


RYAR_booksonthepile

Red Queen CoverRED QUEEN (Red Queen Trilogy #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Release date: February 10, 2015
Source: Publisher

Why it’s on this week’s pile:

I grabbed this book ages ago because of its cover and tagline. But since then I’ve heard it was amazing and now that I’m almost finally out of the backlog of must review books for 2014 I can no longer resist the temptation to read it.

Description:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Add to TBR


Dream a Little Dream CoverDREAM A LITTLE DREAM (The Silver Trilogy #1) by Kerstin Gier

Release date: April 14, 2015
Source: Publisher

Why it’s on this week’s pile:

This is another book that drew me in by its cover. But it’s the description that has made me add this to the pile this week. Because there aren’t many descriptions that use the word “weird” twice, the words “crazy” and “hatchet” and “rituals” and “graveyard.” My curiosity is definitely piqued.

Description:

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yep, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially this one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys perform dark magic rituals.

The really weird thing is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where’s she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But they seem to know things about her in real life that they couldn’t possibly know, which is mystifying. Then again, Liv could never resist a good mystery. . . .

Add to TBR


MY WISHFUL THINKING READ


Seeker CoverSEEKER (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys Dayton
Release date: February 10, 2015

Why it’s only a wish:

Because I only just got access to read SEEKER last week and there have been so many books waiting on my pile for a lot longer than that. But I am in such a mood for epic reads and this book is releasing kinda sorta soon. So while it may end up being be only a wish this week, it will be on the pile next week.

Description:

For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it’s too late to walk away.


WHAT I READ & REVIEWED AND WHAT WAS LEFT BEHIND


I got a bit of reading done this past week and managed to write up a few reviews. I would love to keep the momentum going, but with the holidays quickly approaching that might not be possible. Still, I’m going to try even though I am completely out of commission on Saturday, and Sunday looks to be a shopping day. Bah humbug.

If I don’t get to do quite as much reading this week, I am at least hopeful of tackling the four planned reviews. Which shouldn’t be too difficult, unless I get caught working overtime on trying to get all the additional holiday-related posts done for both blogs.

Here’s the rundown:

What I Read & Reviewed

  • Finished Reading & Reviewed: SUSPICION by Alexandra Monir
  • Finished Reading: IGNITE by Sara B. Larson
  • Read & Reviewed: ZODIAC by Romina Russell
  • Read & Reviewed: BREAKING THE RULES by Katie McGarry
  • Read: THE ONE by Kiera Cass
  • Currently Reading: TRANSCENDENT by Lesley Livingston

What I Hope to Review This Week

  • IGNITE by Sara B. Larson
  • THE ONE by Kiera Cass
  • TRANSCENDENT by Lesley Livingston
  • ENSNARED by A.G. Howard

What Was Left Behind

  • Not yet read: LOVE & OTHER THEORIES by Alexis Bass
  • Not yet reviewed: SUBLIME by Christina Lauren
  • Not yet reviewed: UNHINGED by A.G. Howard
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Still not yet reviewed: BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE WALLED CITY by Ryan Graudin
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE GIFTED DEAD by Jenna Black (a non-YA title)
  • Still not yet read: COMPULSION by Martina Boone
  • Still not yet read: FALL WITH ME by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Still not yet read: THE WINNER’S CRIME by Marie Rutkoski
  • Still reading: THE FIGURES OF BEAUTY by David MacFarlane (a non-YA title)

I am genuinely surprised I was able to read and review both books on last week’s pile as well as read a few others. I am still majorly behind on reviews and may decide not to review some of the earlier books in the two series I opted to re-read last month.

I am happy to have three reviews already posted this month on this blog, another on Fiktshun and one written and sent to the publisher for that sekrit book I was reading. So I think I will be able to reach that goal of five reviews on this blog that I’d set for myself for last week.

For the first time ever since I started blogging I actually reached my reading goal on Goodreads – *throws confetti.* I am also stoked that every book I’ve chosen to read as of late has been so incredibly awesome. Even though it’s going to make it quite difficult to decide those “best of” books for the end of year lists.


NETGALLEY FINDS


There are more than a few awesome books on NetGalley this week, one of which is releasing soon that I’ve opted to pre-order instead of request for review. It was incredibly tempting but I managed to resist temptation. Are there any that tempt you?


So how was your reading and reviewing week? Did you get to all your planned reads and reviews?

And did you get any new and exciting books in the mail, via email or from the bookstore or library?

Leave a comment or a link, I’d love to know.

Happy reading!

Do you create a reading pile?

If so, what’s in your reading pile this week?

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader