My Reading Pile {8}

Book_Haul8

MRP_Descrip_2

I received some totally awesome books in my mail and email boxes this week. A surprise printed ARC for a title I hadn’t been aware of that sounds really cool showed up at my door, two eARCs I didn’t think I’d get approved for were approved, and one that I just have to read this week is now happily living on my Kindle.

My wishful thinking read is a book I’ve been dying to read ever since I got approved for it, and while I would love to sneak it onto the pile, its release is still a ways away and I have so much to catch up on.


WHAT I RECEIVED THIS WEEK


RYAR_HAUL



Print

eBook

  • SOULPRINT by Megan Miranda – via NetGalley courtesy of Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books
  • INHERIT MIDNIGHT by Kate Kae Myers – via NetGalley courtesy of Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books
  • IGNITE by Sara B. Larson – via Edelweiss courtesy of Scholastic Press

WHAT I’M READING THIS WEEK: November 23rd – November 29th, 2014


RYAR_booksonthepile

Ignite-CoverIGNITE (Defy #2) by Sara B. Larson

Release date: December 30, 2014
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Why it’s on this week’s pile:

Because I loved the first book in this series and have been dying to find out what is going to happen next with Alexa and Damian. And I am in a total mood for epic fantasy and as DEFY was seriously epic I just know I’m going to love this sequel.

Description:

Murder, abductions, and forbidden romance abound in this thrilling sequel to Sara B. Larson’s acclaimed YA debut, DEFY.

Alexa remains by the newly crowned King Damian’s side as his guard, ever committed to helping him rebuild Antion and reclaim the hope of Antion’s people, despite continuing to harbor a secret love for him. However, when another threat to Damian and his kingdom emerges, and blame is cast on their newly forged allies from Blevon, Alexa knows things are not what they seem. With the fate of her nation hanging in the balance once again, will Alexa be able to protect her king and uncover the true enemy — before it’s too late?

Add to TBR


Transcendent CoverTRANSCENDENT (Starling #3) by Lesley Livingston

Release date: December 23, 2014
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Why it’s on this week’s pile:

The Fennrys Wolf. That is all. Seriously, do I need to say more?

Description:

LOVE CONQUERS

On a storm-swept terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling holds the fate of the world in her hands as her beloved Fennrys lies bleeding at her feet, his life hanging in the balance. The ancient Norse prophecy of Ragnarok stands poised on the knife edge of fulfillment. Mason’s transformation into a Valkyrie—a chooser of the slain and the one who will ultimately bring about the end of the world—is complete. Still, she remains determined to thwart her father’s apocalyptic desires. Whatever is to come, it won’t happen because of what the prophecy foretold, or what Gunnar Starling has planned, or what the fates have already decided. What happens next will be up to Mason and the Fennrys Wolf. The world had better hope they haven’t reached the limits of what their souls and swords can survive.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and set in the same universe as Lesley Livingston’s much-loved WONDROUS STRANGE trilogy, with roots in Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and Celtic myths and legends, this thrilling conclusion to the acclaimed Starling trilogy is filled to the hilt with sweeping adventure and soaring romance.

Add to TBR


MY WISHFUL THINKING READ


Burning KingdomsBURNING KINGDOMS (Internment Chronicles #2) by Lauren DeStefano
Release date: March 10, 2015

Why it’s only a wish:

I refuse to read the description for BURNING KINGDOMS because I just know I’ll have to start reading it immediately. PERFECT RUIN was amazing and I desperately want to read this next book in the Internment Chronicles. But I have so much catching up to do and there are so many soon-to-be-releasing books on my “must read” pile so I can’t possibly sneak in a March release just yet. I wish I could, though.

Description:

After escaping through the bottom of Internment, Morgan and her fellow fugitives aboard the great mechanical bird land on the ground to finally learn what has lived beneath their floating island home all these eons.

The ground is a strange place where water falls from the sky as snow, and customers watch moving pictures and visit speakeasies. A place where families can have as many children as they want, their dead are buried in vast gardens of bodies, and Internment is the feature of an amusement park.

It is also a land at war.

Everyone who fled Internment had their own reasons to escape their corrupt haven. But caught under the watchful eye of another king that wants to dominate his world, they wonder if coming to the ground will drag Internment down with them.


WHAT I READ & REVIEWED AND WHAT WAS LEFT BEHIND


I got some reading done this past week, but as I had someone coming in from out of town, I had to prep for their arrival and spend some time with them, so I didn’t get the chance to write any reviews and barely had the time to blog.

I am hoping to catch up this week, but as it’s a holiday week and I have a bunch of things planned for the long weekend, I may only have time to read and write the one review I need to for a tour I’m on.

So I’m not going to over-promise and stress myself out even more than I already am. Not until next week, anyway. Here’s the rundown:

What I Read & Reviewed

  • Finished Re-Reading: THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Read: BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Read: FORESWORN by Rinda Elliott
  • Currently reading: THE DARKEST TOUCH by Gena Showalter
  • Currently reading: Secret Book

What I Hope to Review This Week

  • FORESWORN by Rinda Elliott – love, love, loved this series-ending story
  • THE DARKEST TOUCH by Gena Showalter – currently reading and OMG it’s HOT

What Was Left Behind

  • Not yet reviewed: THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Not yet reviewed: THE DREAM THIEVES by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Not yet reviewed: BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Still reading: SUBLIME by Christina Lauren
  • Still reading: NOW THAT YOU’RE HERE by Amy K. Nichols
  • Not yet read: COMPULSION by Martina Boone
  • Not yet read: SUSPICION by Alexandra Monir
  • Not yet read: FALL WITH ME by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE WALLED CITY by Ryan Graudin
  • Still not yet read: THE WINNER’S CRIME by Marie Rutkoski
  • Still reading: THE FIGURES OF BEAUTY by David MacFarlane (a non-YA title)
  • Still not yet reviewed: THE GIFTED DEAD by Jenna Black (a non-YA title)

I should have time to post a couple of reviews here on this blog, depending on how long it takes me to write reviews for last week’s reads and handle what I need to for my IRL stuffs. But that list of “what was left behind” is growing and I really want to catch up before it gets even worse.

And I really want there to be more than one review posted here on this blog in November. While I’ve posted reviews on the other blog this month, seeing just the one image in November Reviews on this blog looks so sad.


NETGALLEY FINDS


There are a bunch of awesome books on NetGalley this week, though many of them are for non-US bloggers. And while I’d have loved to request a few books, I managed only to request just one. Are there any that tempt you?

  • DEAD TO ME by Mary McCoy – Disney Book Group | Mar 3 2015
  • REBELLION by Stephanie Diaz – St. Martin’s Press | Feb 10 2015
  • SLEEPING JENNY by Aubrie Dionne – Spencer Hill Press | Dec 9 2014
  • STORM FALL (Rebel Wing #2) by Tracy Banhart – Alloy Entertainment | Dec 16 2014
  • THE WINNER’S CRIME (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski – Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (UK & ANZ) | Mar 12 2015 **Australia/EU/UK Reviewers Preferred**
  • SIENA by Helen Eve – Pan Macmillan | Jan 1 2015 **EU/UK Reviewers Preferred**
  • IMPULSE by Vanessa Garden – Harlequin (Australia), TEEN/MIRA | Dec 1 2014 **Australia Reviewers Preferred**
  • THERE WILL BE LIES by Nick Lake – Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (UK & ANZ) | Jan 1 2015 **Australia/EU/UK Reviewers Preferred**
  • ALICE AND THE FLY by James Rice – Hachette Australia | Jan 27 2015 **Not yet available to request**

So how was your reading and reviewing week? Did you get to all your planned reads and reviews?

And did you get any new and exciting books in the mail, via email or from the bookstore or library?

Leave a comment or a link, I’d love to know.

Happy reading!

Do you create a reading pile?

If so, what’s in your reading pile this week?

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader