Hot New Titles in Young Adult {9}

There are some awesome new YA titles releasing this week. Here are the hot new titles I can’t wait to add to my collection.


A Thousand Pieces of You CoverA THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Formats: Hardcover, audio, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

Add to TBR


Mortal Heart coverMORTAL HEART (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 464
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

Annith has watched her gifted sisters at the convent come and go, carrying out their dark dealings in the name of St. Mortain, patiently awaiting her own turn to serve Death. But her worst fears are realized when she discovers she is being groomed by the abbess as a Seeress, to be forever sequestered in the rock and stone womb of the convent. Feeling sorely betrayed, Annith decides to strike out on her own.

She has spent her whole life training to be an assassin. Just because the convent has changed its mind doesn’t mean she has…

Add to TBR


The Retribution of Mara Dyer coverTHE RETRIBUTION OF MARA DYER (Mara Dyer #3) by Michelle Hodkin

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 480
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.
Retribution has arrived.

Add to TBR


Killer Instinct coverKILLER INSTINCT (The Naturals #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

With her trademark wit, brilliant plotting, and twists that no one will see coming, Jennifer Lynn Barnes will keep readers on the edge of their seats (and looking over their shoulders) as they race through the pages of this thrilling novel.

Add to TBR


The Walled CityTHE WALLED CITY by Ryan Graudin

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 448
Formats: Hardcover, audio, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

730. That’s how many days I’ve been trapped.
18. That’s how many days I have left to find a way out.

DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible….

JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister….

MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She’s about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window…..

In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.

Add to TBR


Dangerous Deceptions coverDANGEROUS DECEPTIONS (Palace of Spies #2) by Sarah Zettel

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

“A rollicking spy caper in corsets. . . . This witty romp will delight fans of historical fiction as well as mystery lovers.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review of Palace of Spies

As a lady in waiting in King George’s London court, Peggy has survived a forced betrothal, royal scandals, and an attempt or two on her life. And now she has a new problem: her horrible fiancé has returned to claim her! To save her neck, or at least her hand in marriage, Peggy joins forces with her cousin Olivia and her sweetheart, Matthew. But if she doesn’t play her cards right, her career as courtier and spy might come to an end at the bottom of the river Thames . . .

Add to TBR


Broken coverBROKEN (Avena #2) by Marianne Curley

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 384
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

Ebony is not quite human. She’s descended from Avena, an otherworldly realm caught between warring light and dark forces. But she doesn’t feel like she’s in danger . . . until her boyfriend Nathaneal almost dies protecting her. Now Nathaneal is in jail for revealing his powers to the enemy, and Ebony’s only ally is jealous Jordan, who’d love to break her and Nathaneal up.

Then Jordan’s machinations lead Ebony into the treacherous heart of Avena itself. She has no choice but to navigate this perilous world-or die trying.

Fantastical and emotionally powerful, this epic inter-world romance series will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Cynthia Hand.

Add to TBR


Forbidden coverFORBIDDEN by Kimberley Griffiths Little

Release date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Buy it: AMAZON | B&N

Description:

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden’s tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden’s turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe’s leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family’s position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden’s heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden’s heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb’s increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden’s every move, she knows she must find a way to escape—or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family’s survival on the line, Jayden must embark on a deadly journey to save the ones she loves—and find a true love for herself.

Set against the brilliant backdrop of the sprawling desert, the story of Jayden and Kadesh will leave readers absolutely breathless as they defy the odds and risk it all to be together.

Add to TBR


Other Titles

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader