LARK RISING Blog Tour {Excerpt + Giveaway}

LARK RISING Blog Tour {Excerpt + Giveaway}

LARK RISING Blog Tour {Excerpt + Giveaway}
LARK RISING
by Sandra Waugh
Series: Guardians of Tarnec #1
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on September 23, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Romance
AmazonB&NGoodreads

DESCRIPTION

Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.

Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes, and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.


I am totally stoked to be able to share this awesome excerpt from Sandra Waugh’s LARK RISING, the first book in her Guardians of Tarnec series which releases next week on September 23rd for my stop on the blog tour today.

This book sounds magical and exciting and amazing and I cannot wait for its release so that I can meet Lark, learn all about the Guardians, and go on this quest to recover the stolen amulet.

From just this tiny peek into this story I am already in love with the author’s writing. The way she describes this scene makes me want to visit this world… even if the picture she paints is one that is as disturbing as it is enchanting.


Excerpt_RYAR

We were pushing through the storm as if pushing through a wall—a living wall.  The rain held us, the lightning made us fall, and the wind tore at us from every direction.  And at each flash of light, I could see the Wood in its horrific dance, joined now by creatures I did not recognize—wretched things belonging only to Dark Wood—leaping from the ground, dangling from the vines, clinging to tree bark.  The light shut quickly, but their eyes took it in and glowed long after the lightning strikes—gleaming slits of bronze and yellow, throbbing to the thunderous roars.  A wail of terror wound out of the woods like a lash, striking our ears with awful noise and sending a knife of cold fear slicing up my spine.  Gharain shouted, “Banes!”

“What are they?”

“Death knells! Do not catch their eyes—keep your focus on the path or they will lure you in!”

I was warned but I could not help myself.  I thudded behind Gharain, my gaze no longer searching for Twig but peering, morbidly fascinated, at all the things that pulsed on the path’s border.  Which were the hideous-voiced banes—those things of matted fur and loose limbs and bulbous-tipped fingers that held them firmly suspended, or the sharp-scaled beasts that slithered up the vines?  A tail, a claw, a fang, a wing: glimpses of other noxious creatures shaking the leaves.  Beetles and bugs swarming on the bark, limbless things worming through the fallen matter—how many creatures throbbed in Dark Wood?  The rain sluiced down dark within the tangle—it was blood gushing from a wound; it was black sap from the hukon tree.  The glowing eyes danced behind slimed, dank leaves, and the smell of decay rose up from the floor of the woods in a reek of slow death. And then the wailing became song, high-pitched and sweet, the tune like a thread to snare and be pulled along.  My hand stayed in Gharain’s grasp—I could feel it—but my arm was lengthening, extending, disconnecting form the rest of my body until there was left but a tiny charge somewhere far away in my fingertips.

Come.  Dark Wood pulsed in invitation.  Gleaming wet now, densely rich, it was seductive, and intoxicating, and teeming with vibrant life.  The song swirled in my head; the melody beckoned.  Come dance.  And the path was suddenly plain and bare while the rest of life whirled and spiraled but a step away.  The wind, thunder, rain and banes’ calls were in exquisite harmony.

The charge in my fingers disappeared.


About Sandra Waugh

Sandra WaughSandra grew up in an old house full of crowded bookshelves, in walking distance of an old library that allowed her to drag home a sack of six books at a time. It goes without saying, then, that she fell in love with the old house in Litchfield County, CT, because of its many bookshelves, and she lives there now with her husband, two sons, and a dog who snores. Loudly.

LARK RISING is her first novel and the first in the GUARDIANS OF TARNEC series. SILVER EVE follows in 2015.

Find her: WEBSITE | BLOGTWITTER | FACEBOOK | TUMLBR | PINTERESTGOODREADS


Giveaway

There is a tour-wide giveaway for…

  • A leaf necklace, $25 Amazon gift card, sachet, a signed hardcover of LARK RISING, and a bookmark and a postcard – ONE WINNER – US ONLY
  • Leaf earrings, cuff, soap, sachet and a signed hardcover of LARK RISING, and a bookmark and a postcard – ONE WINNER – US ONLY
  • A signed hardcover of LARK RISING, and a bookmark and a postcard – THREE WINNERS – US ONLY

Enter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Tour

Week One

Sept. 15th – Mom With A Kindle – Interview

Sept. 16th – Reading YA Rocks – Excerpt

Sept. 17th – My ParaHangover – Review

Sept. 18th – Two Chicks on Books – Guest Post

Sept. 19th – Carina’s Books – Spotlight

Week Two

Sept. 22nd – A Backwards Story – Review

Sept. 23rd – Word Spelunking – Guest Post

Sept. 24th – Literary Meanderings – Interview

Sept. 25th – Fall Into Books – Interview

Sept. 26th – Magical Urban Fantasy Reads – Guest Post

YAReader

YAReader

Rachel (a.k.a. Fiktshun) has been blogging about (mostly YA) books since 2010. She always has and always will believe that reading YA rocks and thinks she's found the perfect place to ramble here at RYAR.
YAReader